Self-imposed Exile Into Separation’s Permissive Reign Of Terror

I told you I’d get around

to explaining what I meant

about our collectively composed

menagerie up for rent

because we never want to

keep it to ourselves , oh no

it must be passed down like

keepsakes in the attic, don’t you know

 

There’s no way to deny

the solidity of all this

or pass my hand through

a table, you know I won’t miss

but that doesn’t discount

the presence of an illusion

as I said, it’s the brain

that connects that conclusion

 

But, what contributes to the

indisputable reality of the dream

is that everyone, without question

believes in the dream.

 

Gone are the days when we

had time to sit and ponder

hunt all day and sit under

the stars and wander

in our thoughts at the

windswept cluster of lights

naming them all connecting

them with stories and meanings

allaying our fears succombing

to gods and ordering our world.

 

But, what contributes to the

indisputable reality of the dream

is that everyone, without question

believes in the dream.

 

gods and myths were replaced

with science but we

still busied ourselves

reluctantly, we maintain

the regrets, the fear, the

crystallized conglomerate

of ego-based nightmares.

 

But, what contributes to the

indisputable reality of the dream

is that everyone, without question

believes in the dream.

 

What’s holding us so tenaciously

to the ego-created dream?

or is there this underlying

consciousness in concert with

the stream of forgetfulness,

loneliness projected as

defensive mind blocks to

cover up the fear.

 

But, what contributes to the

indisputable reality of the dream

is that everyone, without question

believes in the dream.

 

If we all knew what was

missing it would be too much to bear

very few have faced the fear

the thing that looking inside reveals

We’d rather busy ourselves

with thoughts and tasks

or pleasantries and the like.

 

But, what contributes to the

indisputable reality of the dream

is that everyone, without question

believes in the dream.

 

I felt I had no choice at a

time when I had to answer

questions of sorrow

when my mood would darken

I’d let it sit a while

and then see what would follow.

 

I braved the darkness, drank of

it deeply, my dark night of the soul

and quieted the rampant brain chatter

and noise and entered my personal black hole.

It ended up being easier than I thought

when I read about a meditation method

just being mindful of my breath….mindful of my breath.

 

But, what contributes to the

indisputable reality of the dream

is that everyone, without question

believes in the dream.

 

 

Leave a Reply

