My Peter Pan Plan Part 1

peterpanI am Nessyphia. Oh sure, I was born 55 years ago under the name that my parents gave to me. It’s not such a bad name.

James William Kovic

 

And then when I was fourteen I, being born into the Roman Catholic faith, received the Confirmation of that faith as all Catholic young men and women do and yet another name to go along with it. The name I chose was Robert and then my name became:

James William Robert Kovic

 

However, as I said, that is most of the name that my parents gave to me. That’s fine. And for 45 years I lived with and accepted that name. Naturally, my parents affectionately called me Jimmy. And when I meet up with those people with whom I grew up with: brothers, sisters and friends who lived in the neighborhood of Massapequa on Long Island in the state of New York, that is usually how I am addressed.

 

Nevertheless, in the context of Who I Am, I Am Nessyphia.

 

So, what do I mean by that, you might ask. And I’m sure a quizzical look comes over your face when you read the name Nessyphia. It’s pronounced Ness-Uh-Fia, if that is any help. I’m going to give you all a break here and walk you through this so that you can understand where I’m coming from and where I am and where I’m intending to go with all of this.

In effect, and as the title of this article suggests, I am declaring my individual independence from adhering to all of the formally set down social rules some intentional, while others unspoken that I feel are preventing me from expressing the soul who I am. That is what I mean by “My Peter Pan Plan”.

 

Peter Pan never wanted to grow up, never wanted to go through the process of being initiated into adulthood, perhaps because he felt that this would occur at the expense of his soul. I think as the writer of this tale probably did that this was a well intentioned protest toward a possible unacceptable way in which children were being treated by adults during the Victorian era In Great Britain. The story “Mary Poppins” also speaks of this flagrant attack upon the innocence of children. But, “Peter Pan” seems to go deeper. Without a thorough look into this tale I see this story as being a calling out by a child on the threshold of adolescence wanting to slow down the quickening pace of the process that is speeding him head on toward the point of no return. The boy, Peter, is putting up his hands and saying, “Stop, hold on a second. I will not go any further until I have properly aired my concerns here about what I am inevitably seemingly throwing myself into here.”

 

Well, I don’t know about you but doesn’t this seem rather thought-provoking?   Well, if it does then you’re in luck and you will be happy to know that although this is the end of this particular post, Part 2 will be coming up next……..so stay tuned and interested.

 

THE NEXT POST:

WHY ARE WE GROWING UP AND WHAT ARE WE GROWING UP TOWARDS?

 

Leave a Reply

